Chapter History

The Charlottesville Alumnae Chapter of ΔΣΘ Sorority Incorporated was chartered June 7, 1969 by Soror Barbara Williams, Director of ΔΣΘ South-Atlantic Region with twelve charter members:

  • Virginia Bell
  • Fay Benton
  • Florence Bryant
  • Rosa Burks
  • Dorothy Conrad
  • Zelda DeBerry
  • Daisy Holmes
  • Gertrude Mitchell
  • Nancee Pritchett
  • Felicia Rowe
  • Mary Janet Scott
  • Josephine Whitsett

Serving the City of Charlottesville and the counties of Albemarle, Augusta, Fluvanna, Louisa, and Rockingham, the chapter continues to foster the ideals of our visionary founders. Since its inception, Charlottesville Alumnae has initiated over 75 women and currently serves as the home to over 50 sorors diverse in age and profession, while being committed to ONE MISSION, ONE SISTERHOOD: Empowering Communities through Committed Service.

Realizing the influence of collegiate sorors, Charlottesville Alumnae sorors sponsored the chartering of the Kappa Rho Chapter at the University of Virginia in 1973.

In 1993, the Charlottesville Alumnae Chapter became the advising resource to the Iota Alpha Chapter at James Madison University.